Governance of the SRA

The SRA was founded in 1978 and has been registered as a charity since 1 May 2008.

Our Memorandum  and Articles have been lodged with Companies House and the Charity Commission. Terms of reference & Standing order (pdf)

Our Board:

David Johnson (Department for Work and Pensions) - SRA Chair
Nigel Meager (Institute of Employment Studies) - Hon. Treasurer
Vicki Belt (University of Warwick) - Training
Mark Carrigan (Cambridge University) - Digital comms
Dan Clay (Newgate Communications) - Membership
Bob Erens (London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine)
Jane Evans (Indpendent researcher) - Ethics
Faye Gracey (Welsh Government) - Chair, Wales branch
Kieran O'Leary (Ipsos MRBI) - Chair, Ireland branch
Karen Kerr (Skills Development Scotland) - Chair, Scotland branch
Rosie McLeod (New Philanthropy Capital) - Events
Ailbhe McNabola (Power to Change Trust) - Commissioning group
Isabella Pereira (Ipsos MORI) - Advocacy
Martina Vojtkova (NatCen Social Research) - Research Matters magazine

Contact us for more information.


The SRA has two patrons, recognised for their longstanding and significant contribution to the association:

Ceridwen Roberts, OBE
Janet Lewis, FAcSS

The Social Research Association is a registered charity in England and Wales, number 1123940, and a limited liability company in England and Wales, number 06407985.  Registered address: Neptune House, 70 Royal Hill, Greenwich, London SE10 8RF.  Correspondence address: c/o CILIP, 7 Ridgmount Street, London WC1E 7AE.

Sir Roger Jowell, one of the SRA's founders, had a profoundly influential career in social research.  Read about him here.